How not to get a job in PR

April 25, 2008

A PR agency genuinely received this as a CV covering letter….amazing.

“Desirous to give a new orientation to my career, in an open and international environment, I permit myself to submit a spontaneous offer. Are you looking for someone dynamic and polyvalent, knowing to achieve the fixed objectives, on an international level, to fill a position with responsibilities?

 

You are treating with an experienced professional in communication and administration, having the habit of success, thanks to his energy and his strength, his enthusiasm and a real interest in a creative and efficient management of the confided duties.

 

In fact, after almost five years on behalf of an important Swiss institution of public utility and charity, I aspire to a new professional challenge in a stimulating sector. I’m looking to diversify and deepen my acquired capacities in PR and corporate communications. My cv enclosed informs you further about my qualities and my past experiences.

 

I inform you herewith also that I enrolled at Westminster University, London, as from September 2008.This in order to obtain a Master in PR and Public communications. These studies will last one year, and during this period, I won’t be able to work full time. Thanks for your understanding.

 

In expectation of a response, which I hope will be positive, I’d like you to acknowledge, Sir, my best regards.”

I don’t think they were ever invited in for an interview.

2 Responses to “How not to get a job in PR”


  1. […] “Desirous to give a new orientation to my career, in an open and international environment, I permit myself to submit a spontaneous offer. Are you looking for someone dynamic and polyvalent, knowing to achieve the fixed objectives, on an international level, to fill a position with responsibilities“? – (Honestly, a direct quote from a PR and Comms Network post) […]


  2. Looks to me like it’s a foreign student who has used one of those digital translator things.


Leave a Reply

