How to break up with your job…

June 1, 2007

Is this the funniest resignation sign off email ever? Sent from a top 10 PR agency today and given to the PR and Comms Network 10 minutes ago….

Before I say anything, I just want you to know that this is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to write.

I’ve had such a great time getting to know you but I feel that things just aren’t working out the way I’d planned.

Most importantly, I need you to understand something, it’s nothing you’ve done, it’s really not you, it’s me.

I need to be alone right now and find my own way. It’s been great, but I just don’t think this is right for me right now. I’m not at a stage in my life when I can commit and give you the security you need.

Sure, we’ve had some good times, the cocktail party, the karaoke dinner…. those are memories I’ll treasure forever. However, there have been bad times too, like the time that release got sent out late and we just ended up arguing, or the time that press meeting got muddled in the diaries and everyone blamed me.

Those were tough times and at the end of the day, I think we should call it a day now and hopefully, remain friends, if you want to? You really are great, I just wish I was good enough for you. You deserve someone who’s on the same wavelength and I’m afraid that’s just not me.I wish I could think and feel differently but I just cant. I just feel that we are going in different directions and I don’t want to hold you back, as I’m sure you don’t want to hold me back either.

I realise this may come as a bit of a shock, so I want to give you some space to come to terms with everything I’ve said.

If you want to contact me, my email is: ****************

I hope we can still be friends.

Leave a Reply

